Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 54
Collection
Identifier: MS 00211
Scope and Contents
The collection consists of incoming correspondence for Helen Rodgers Weber, with the bulk written over a few months in 1943. The letters are mostly authored by Helen's mother Lettie, father Clarence, and sister Jean. The content reflects on daily life in Indiana during WWII. Helen, also known as Honan, marries Charles Anthony Weber in May 1943. The tight-knit family often addresses their letters to both Helen and Charles and sign each letter as a family unit. Other...
Dates:
1937-1943; Majority of material found within 1943
Collection
Identifier: SC 00073
Scope and Contents
Two letters from Henry C. Moss to Henry (Hank) J. Heusinkveld dated November 16, 1943 and May 6, 1944. Moss served in World War II with the Army's 342nd Armored Field Artillery Battalion, Battery C. He wrote both letters from Fort Sill, Oklahoma.
Dates:
1943-1944
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.432
Scope and Contents
Diaries and photograph album, circa 1940s, of Virginia Howell of Richmond, Virginia. Virginia Howell was married to David Edward Howell, who was in the United States Army during World War II. Includes two volumes which contain diary entries, with photographs and letters from Edward Howell attached. Diary entries include information about Edward Howell's training at Camp Lee, Virginia, as well as information about Virginia Howell's daily activities and whether she received mail from Edward....
Dates:
1940-1949
Collection
Identifier: UA 5.156
Scope and Contents
Contains a presentation entitled "Reflections of a World War II Bombardier" by James C. Goodwyn, class of 1948, to the Olde Guarde of the Alumni Association in May 2005. Included are first-hand stories of Goodwyn's involvement with the 15th Air Force, 20th Squadron in Italy, photographs of Goodwyn and other Air Force Members, and a copy of the Olde Guarde program with the names and summaries of the other presentations given.
Dates:
2005
Collection
Identifier: SC 00064
Scope and Contents
One letter from James H. Schneider to Betty Dietz dated October 13, 1945. Schneider writes from the 29 Palms area of California. In his letter he talks about fixing planes, missing sea duty, and taking a trip to Los Angeles.
Dates:
Majority of material found in 1945 July 16
Collection
Identifier: SC 00956
Scope and Contents
Diary of John G. Roland, a soldier at the Aberdeen Proving Ground in Aberdeen, Maryland. Discusses primarily his training and his attempt to get into Officer Candidate School.
Dates:
1943
Collection
Identifier: SC 00076
Scope and Contents
One letter from John Halko to his friend, Zygmunt Chmielewski postmarked December 8, 1942. Halko served in World War II in the Army Air Force. He wrote his letter from Lincoln Air Base in Lincoln, Nebraska.
Dates:
1942 December
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.024
Scope and Contents
World War II Scrapbook of Corporal Joseph J. Bernius, Company B, 591st Engineer Boat Regiment, covering the years 1942 through 1944. This extensive scrapbook consists predominantly of photographs. Also included are postcards, currency, and examples of English regimental insignia. Places covered according to entries on the second page include Scotland, England, North Africa, and Italy.
Dates:
1942-1944
Collection
Identifier: MS 00357
Content Description
Personal correspondence including a letter from Richard Kidd to "Bonnie and kids" and a citation from the United States Army signed by Lt. Col., AGD, Adjutant General, Mark Amen. Photographs contained in the collection include those that depict soldiers and life during World War II. Postcards of Germany and photographs of the Statue of Liberty circa 1945 are also included. There is an accompanying essay written 2022 April 28 by Sydney Kidd Finneran titled "Propagation for...
Dates:
Circa 1945
Collection
Identifier: SC 00704
Scope and Contents
Diary, 1943, kept by Private William J. Lawler while he was stationed in Atlantic City, New Jersey, Niagara Falls, New York, Tenessee, Georgia, and Denver, Colorado during World War II. Most of his entries in the diary are very detailed, and some of the entries were written by his wife, Nancy Selina. The entries record his life as a service member in the United States Army. Topics include Lawler attending basic training, details of his wife's pregnancy, attending flight school, going to...
Dates:
1943
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.036
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook, 1942-1945, of Goldie Leatherman of Hagerstown, Maryland. Leatherman's husband, George, was drafted and inducted into the United States Army. Includes letters, war bond packages, newsletters, and fliers relating to the war effort. There are also diary entries written into the scrapbook by Goldie Leatherman.
Dates:
1942-1945
Collection
Identifier: MS 00256
Scope and Contents
Papers concerning the War Board and Post-War Planning Commission during World War II in Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia.
Collection was accessioned as W&M: War Board Papers.
Dates:
1940-1945
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.021
Scope and Contents
Letters home to Gatesville, Texas from two brothers, Cam and Burl McGilvray who served in the Army and Marines respectively during World War II. Cam McGilvray was in the Army Officer Candidate School No. 1 in Fargo, North Dakota. Burl McGilvray was stationed overseas and returned in April 1943 to the U.S. Naval Hospital in San Diego, California due to a heat stroke complication. The collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, song lyrics and postcards.
Dates:
1942-1943
Collection
Identifier: MS 00340
Scope and Contents
The McLeod-Tyler Family papers contains materials from members of the McLeod-Tyler family. Included in the collection are diaries and scrapbooks of Lieutenant John G. Tyler II during World War II, a typed transcript of a Civil War Memoir of Edward Keville Glennan; a commemorative collection of 20 battle pictures, entitled "Advance in the Pacific, New Guinea to the Philipines"; and two high school poetry anthologies, 1969-1970 to which J. Goodenow Tyler III contributed. Also included in the...
Dates:
1930-2007 and undated
Collection
Identifier: UA 210
Scope and Contents
This collection includes invitations, material about the Queen's Guard and ROTC, and other publications from the Department of Military Science and other military-related bodies at the College of William and Mary. The collection also includes material related to the Student Army Training Corps stationed on campus during World War I, activities of other units during World War II, and the US Coast Guard Auxiliary.
Dates:
1918-2011
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.190
Scope and Contents
Diaries, photographs, and clippings, 1935-1951, of Helen Minor of Baltimore, Maryland. Minor also seems to have spent time in Indiana and Ohio. Includes diary entries for almost every day from 1935 through 1948, with entries becoming more scattered between 1948 and 1951. Diary entries primarily concern Minor's day to day activities, including her job, people with which she meets, events which she attends, and her lack of relationships with men. There are also photographs, primarily of an...
Dates:
1935-1951
Collection
Identifier: SC 01044
Scope and Contents
Letters, 1942-1945, of Donald Mullikan written to his sister, Lois Mullikan. Donald was stationed in multiple areas during the war, including the Canal Zone in Panama.
Dates:
1942-1945
Collection — Box: 1, Volume: 1
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.100
Scope and Contents
World War II Scrapbook, 1941-1945, most likely compiled by Mrs. R. H. Payne of Remington, Virginia. Included are news clippings relating to the war, as well as a telegram, postcards and letters sent to her by her son Barksdale McClanahan Payne (1907-1985) from his military service in Europe, Barksdale Payne's military insignia and foreign paper money.
Dates:
Other: 1941-1945
Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MS 00227
Content Description
Correspondence from William (Billy) Preston to his sister and brother-in-law, Ruth and Ralph Bennett, primarily mailed during World War II (1940-1945) with a few letters sent from 1946-1960. The collection includes 120 handwritten and typed letters and postcards; black and white photographs; a Western Union telegram; and newspaper clippings. It is arranged chronologically. The correspondence is detailed and legible, with description of U.S. Army experience in North America (training, duties,...
Dates:
1940-1960; Majority of material found within 1941-1945
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.684
Scope and Contents
Documents (photocopies), circa 1980s, relating to Ardith Pugh's service on the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians, created to investigate the internment of Japanese-American citizens during World War II. This collection consists of photocopies of interviews/testimonies, case files used during the internment procedures, and correspondence between government officials, much of which was used by the Commission in its deliberations.
Dates:
circa 1980-1989
Collection
Identifier: Mss 1.05
Scope and Contents
The racial and ethnic ephemera collection contains various materials regarding race, ethnicity, and racism in the United States. The collection includes papers and items that promote racial prejudice and propaganda. The collection also contains items and papers that exemplify the fight for civil and equal rights. African Americans are the most broadly represented group in the collection. Other ethnic groups include Native Americans, Asian Americans, Jewish Americans, Muslim Americans, and...
Dates:
1778-2005
Collection
Identifier: SC 00066
Scope and Contents
One letter from Raymond Woodsmall, Jr. to Mary Bedingfield. Woodsmall served in World War II in Company I of the 3rd Battalion, 1st C.W.S. Infantry Regiment. The letter is dated November 28, 1942.
Dates:
1942 November 28
Collection
Identifier: MS 00019
Scope and Contents
This collection consists of approximately 1,400 total items including approximately 550 letters from 1944 to 1955 between John Patrick Rembert and his wife Sarafan, as well as other correspondence regarding homelife and the military and World War II. Also included in this collection are photo albums and loose photographs, including many portraits of John Patrick Rembert and Sarafan Rembert, relatives of the Remberts, friends and family and the Rembert's travels. There are several 8x10...
Dates:
circa 1885-1965; Majority of material found in 1910-1955
Collection
Identifier: SC 00072
Scope and Contents
Two letters from Rowland Young to his parents dated July 20, 1043 and October 1, 1944. In his letters Young talks about his dislike for the Medical Corps and time spent at Camp Pickett in Virginia. Young served with the Eleventh Engineer Combate Battalion, Company B. during World War II.
Dates:
1943-1944
Collection
Identifier: MS 00342
Content Description
A collection of two hundred and twenty-one letters sent to Rosalie White Irwin, a resident of Richmond, Virginia, dated from 1937 to 1950. Most of the letters included are from a variety of male admirers or boyfriends, including her future husband, Ted. The men are all serving in the army at the end of World War II and in the years following. Their letters provide descriptions of army and camp life both at home and abroad in India, the Philippines, Australia, Japan, and the South Pacific....
Dates:
1937 - 1950
